Desert Sessions

Vol.1: Instrumental Driving Music For Felons


In Stock - Ready to Ship

 The Desert Sessions are a musical collective series, founded by Josh Homme in 1997. Artists such as Brant Bjork, PJ Harvey, Twiggy Ramirez, Dave Catching, Nick Olivieri, Mark Lanegan, John McBain, Ben Shepherd, Josh Freese, Chris Goss, Alain Johannes, Troy Van Leeuwen, Dean Ween, Les Claypol and may others from the Palm Desert Scene have contributed as songwriters and musicians. The Desert Sessions began in August 1997 at the Rancho De La Luna in Joshua Tree when Josh Homme brought together musicians from the bands Monster Magnet, Goatsnake, earthlings?, Kyuss. The ranch is an old house filled with rare and unique recording equipment and instruments and was owned by Dave Catching and the late Fred Drake. Songs are written “on the spot”, often in a matter of hours. The first Desert Session was not actually a “session” per se, but Homme and his band at the time (The Acquitted Felons) playing for three days straight on psychedelic mushrooms. Since then, the Desert Sessions have become legendary, growing in intensity and artistic merit.

Side 1
1. "Girl Boy Tom"
2. "Monkey In The Middle"
3. "Girl Boy Tom"
4. "Preaching" (part 1)
Side 2
1. "Preaching" (part 2)
2. "Cowards Way Out"
3. "Robotic Lunch"


    Release Date: 26 Jul 22 Cat No: SBR001